In the deep mid-spring

These last few days have been as cold and unpleasant as any I’ve experienced. Three days ago we had 19mm of rain, so the garden flooded. The following night it froze hard, so heaven knows what damage was done to plant roots. Doubtless we’ll find out later. Mercifully I managed to get my shallots and maincrop onions planted before the cold snap set in – so that’s something. It’s a job I like to do in very early springtime.

And as for lambing, well all I can say is that it has been quite slow. Normally we’d be rushed off our feet by now, but here am I with time on my hands to write a blog post. It’s crazy (the weather, I mean, not this post).

In very cold weather, young lambs huddle up together in nests to conserve body warmth. Here are pictures of a couple: the first with young Emma’s badger-faced lamb, and the second with a ewe pawing (shouldn’t that be hoofing?) her lamb to get it to stand up and be fed. Sheep, like human mothers, can be very bossy, it would seem.

Badger-face and friends

Emma’s badger-face lamb in a ‘nest’.

Time for a feed

A ewe tries to persuade a lamb to leave the nest and be fed.

I was just about to put my camera away and return to the house when the peace of the barn was shattered by an ear-splitting cock-a-doodle-do!  I took this picture a moment later. The ewes and lambs seemed completely unaffected. But not me: I had to pick myself out of the rafters.

Our Maran cockerel surveys his domain.

Our Maran cockerel surveys his domain.

This entry was posted in Farming and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.