Time Team Series 20, my second episode: Lest we Forget

I’ll keep this one short, like the one minute remembrance silence that Tony spontaneously called for at the end of the final scene. I don’t think it was filmed, and probably just as well – we were cold, tired and not looking our best. But I don’t think any official Remembrance Day has affected me so much. For the past three days I’d found myself thinking about my grandfather Walter Marlborough Pryor who spent 4 years in the trenches, during which time he was awarded two DSOs and became Commanding Officer of the Royal Warwickshire Regiment – being given the position while in the trenches. By some miracle he survived the Great War, but would rarely talk about it. After he died, we found this little water-colour he’d painted. On the back he had written:

“Derelict Tank on edge of R. STEENBEEK at St. JULIEN – VIEW from Bn [Battalion] H.Q. in the line during 3rd battle of YPRES August 1917. WMP”

I gather the Third Battle of Ypres, is sometimes known as ‘the tanks’ graveyard’. This is my small tribute to my grand-dad.

Ypres tank

This entry was posted in Archaeology, Broadcasting, History, Time Team and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.